RM Noise stopped working

Users help users
Post Reply
VK3DMA
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2024 7:34 am

RM Noise stopped working

Post by VK3DMA »

Hi All,
Been really enjoying the quality of RM Noise to manage my QRM, but it stopped working.

The "AI Filter" list is blank, & looking through the log file I can see the following messages:
2024-04-25 15:49:18.429125 internet: init: info: trying to bind udp source port: 57965
2024-04-25 15:49:18.429125 internet: init: info: UDP socket initialized on source port 57965
2024-04-25 15:49:18.429125 internet: server launcher: info: retrieving server list
2024-04-25 15:49:18.447639 internet: server launcher: warning: could not get DNS
2024-04-25 15:49:18.580798 soundcard online.

I've tried uninstalling & reinstalling, but no luck.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

73,
VK3DMA
User avatar
RandyW
Site Admin
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 3:47 pm

Re: RM Noise stopped working

Post by RandyW »

The blank AI filter list suggests you are not connecting to any server, and the log indicates the problem is related to receiving DNS.

To check DNS, enter the following on your command line and post the results:

Code: Select all

nslookup -type=txt servers.rmnoise.com
User avatar
RandyW
Site Admin
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 3:47 pm

Re: RM Noise stopped working

Post by RandyW »

Take a look at this similar thread:
viewtopic.php?t=78


What do you get when you run this command:

Code: Select all

nslookup  -type=txt servers.rmnoise.com 8.8.8.8
VK3DMA
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2024 7:34 am

Re: RM Noise stopped working

Post by VK3DMA »

Thanks for your help Randy.

I've sent through a direct email reply, but for anyone else having the same error, my output from running this nslookup is:

Non-authoritative answer:
servers.rmnoise.com text =

"rmnoise1.rmnoise.com:11109,rmnoise2.rmnoise.com:11109,rmnoise3.rmnoise.com:11109"


Please let me know if there is anything else you would like me to test.
Best Regards,
David
User avatar
RandyW
Site Admin
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2023 3:47 pm

Re: RM Noise stopped working

Post by RandyW »

Update for anyone following this topic:

A Windows configuration change resolved this issue. It was not related to Australia nor was it directly related to IPv6 DNS.
Post Reply